Customer reviews for Digital Timer Bookmark

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Scholastic Clubs.

Digital Timer Bookmark

Overall rating:
1.524 / 5
1.5
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
17
Customer reviews for Digital Timer Bookmark
Review 1 for Digital Timer Bookmark
Customer avatarBy: Bummed1
I am a: Parent
From: Livonia, MI
Overall rating 
1 / 5

Digital timer bookmark would be useful it it had come with instructions

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
I am not sure if our product was missing the instructions, but we did NOT have any in the box. It has not been used and is sitting there on the counter. Does anyone know how to set the timer?
0points
1of 2people found this following review helpful.
Review 2 for Digital Timer Bookmark
Customer avatarBy: WebWebster
I am a: Parent
Overall rating 
1 / 5

Ready Set Read! Book Mark Very Poor Design--My kids do not use it

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Very poor design. Doesn't Scholastic quality assurance test or perform usability studies. My kids were excited to get this but within a couple of days gave up. The design is way too complicated. How about just set and start buttons. Scholastic should pull this item and pay a consultant to redesign this for them. Can I get my money back? How do you mark zero stars. :(
+6points
9of 12people found this following review helpful.
Review 3 for Digital Timer Bookmark
Customer avatarBy: LetsRead
I am a: Parent
From: Irvine, CA
Overall rating 
1 / 5

Not easy to use

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Bought this for the kids to use so they don't lose track of time as they're reading. They love to read, but forget to do everything else. For us, it was utterly useless because the tech-savvy kids find the timer too klutzy to deal with (clicking on multiple buttons for the mode, cycling through the minutes to reset the minutes, etc). As great of an idea the bookmark is, don't buy it because your kids will NOT use it. (More trash for the dumpsters. More pollution. So sad.)
+7points
7of 7people found this following review helpful.
Review 4 for Digital Timer Bookmark
Customer avatarBy: MeNTheHooligans
I am a: Parent
Overall rating 
1 / 5

Forget it

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Needed directions. I thought mine was broken. Thank you to the other reviewers who actually took the time to figure them out. I'll try it tonight. Either way, its buttons beep very loudly when you set the time. Not impressed AT ALL.
This book is great for annoying your mother with beep noises
I'd recommend this book for kids that like to make beeping noises, kids that like pushing buttons
Classroom Uses too loud/distracting to set up for classroom use
+5points
6of 7people found this following review helpful.
Review 5 for Digital Timer Bookmark
Customer avatarBy: SheriSpurlock
I am a: Parent
From: Battle Ground, WA
Overall rating 
1 / 5

Waste of Time and $

PostedOctober 14, 2013
No instructions. Spent too much time trying to figure out how it works. Finally got it figured out:
To set it to count down, push "mode" until the 00:00 shows. Click "set" until the : is not flashing and use the hr/min buttons to rotate the time. Click "set" again and the : should flash. The time will now count down and the alarm will go off when it's done.
To just keep track of how long you have read, use the same method above, but set the clock to 00:00 and then press "set". The counter will now count UP and keep track of how long the person has been reading.
Bottom line, this thing is dumb. Not even really worth the $3 without instructions. Buy a cheap kitchen timer or use the one on the microwave.
+19points
19of 19people found this following review helpful.
Review 6 for Digital Timer Bookmark
Customer avatarBy: bookmom03
I am a: Parent
From: Houston
Overall rating 
1 / 5

no instructions?

PostedOctober 10, 2013
This is not a child-friendly or intuitive device. It wouldn't have rated as low IF instructions were included. Highly disappointing. Use your $3 for a paperback or ebook!
+11points
11of 11people found this following review helpful.
Review 7 for Digital Timer Bookmark
Customer avatarBy: ajmom
I am a: Parent
From: san rafael, ca
Overall rating 
1 / 5

NO INSTRUCTIONS

PostedOctober 10, 2013
there are no instructions with the timer or online. If it was worth my time I would return this thing but for $3 I don't have the energy. DO NOT BUY THIS!!!!!!!!
+7points
8of 9people found this following review helpful.
Review 8 for Digital Timer Bookmark
Customer avatarBy: KansasMom
I am a: Parent
From: Spring Hill, KS
Overall rating 
1 / 5

Difficult to Figure Out

PostedOctober 10, 2013
I'm disappointed that this bookmark came with no instructions on how to set the timer and make the thing work. I've played with it and am unable to figure out what it is trying to do.
Classroom Uses product development failures
+7points
7of 7people found this following review helpful.
Review 9 for Digital Timer Bookmark
Customer avatarBy: ConnieB
I am a: Parent
From: Tampa, FL
Overall rating 
4 / 5

Works once you figure it out

PostedOctober 9, 2013
I was as frustrated as other reviewers but my daughter wanted to give it a try. My husband had the patience to figure it out. I wrote the directions on the box for reference later.
Try these directions:
1. Press Mode until you see 00:00. If the : is blinking, press Set.
2. Press Red button until you reach desired reading time
3. Press Set button. The : will blink and minutes will count down.
4. When the timer goes off, pressing Set seemed to turn it off and then you can press the Red button to set the timer and press Set again to turn on.
Hope this helps!
This book is great for giving as a gift, recreational reading
I'd recommend this book for reluctant readers, girls, boys, voracious readers
Classroom Uses literary devices
+25points
26of 27people found this following review helpful.
Review 10 for Digital Timer Bookmark
Customer avatarBy: 2BoyzMom
I am a: Parent
From: New York, NY
Overall rating 
1 / 5

Very disappointing!

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Don't waste your money! I wish I had read the reviews before I purchased this product, but I ordered it from a flyer from my son's school. It is so confusing to set-up and to use. Not to mention, it uses military time which is completely confusing to a child learning how to tell time. Save your money!
+5points
6of 7people found this following review helpful.
Review 11 for Digital Timer Bookmark
Customer avatarBy: nick9437
I am a: Parent
From: new jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5

great

PostedOctober 8, 2013
i like the proudect it times you
I'd recommend this book for boys
+1point
2of 3people found this following review helpful.
Review 12 for Digital Timer Bookmark
Customer avatarBy: TheNanceFamily
I am a: Parent
From: Stationed in Italy
Overall rating 
1 / 5

Wish I'd Read the Reviews!

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Horribly stupid product. I wanted to sit down, press go, and have it track the time you read until you press stop. It doesn't do that. You have to set a time and it will only count down. Ridiculous. Oh, and it only keeps military time rather than a 12-hr clock. Very confusing to children who are just learning to tell time. Don't waste your money!
+10points
10of 10people found this following review helpful.
Review 13 for Digital Timer Bookmark
Customer avatarBy: CLP72
I am a: Parent
From: ILLINOIS
Overall rating 
1 / 5

Do NOT waste your money!

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
I agree with everyone and should have read the reviews. Very frustrating and a big disappointment. Some of the buttons do absolutely nothing! I bought one for each of my kids. What a waste of $9!
+6points
6of 6people found this following review helpful.
Review 14 for Digital Timer Bookmark
Customer avatarBy: mom459
I am a: Parent
Overall rating 
1 / 5

No directions

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Don't buy this product. Its going in the donation pile. Complete disappointment.
+2points
3of 4people found this following review helpful.
Review 15 for Digital Timer Bookmark
Customer avatarBy: Lucylo4
I am a: Parent
From: Sacramento, CA
Overall rating 
1 / 5

Difficult

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
No instructions included...got it to work once by pushing random buttons. My 2nd grader was so excited for this timer. Very disappointed.
+5points
5of 5people found this following review helpful.
Review 16 for Digital Timer Bookmark
Customer avatarBy: MyKidsMom
I am a: Parent
From: Seattle, WA
Overall rating 
1 / 5

No Directions to set time

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
There are no directions to set the timer. Nice idea if we could figure out how to use it.
+4points
4of 4people found this following review helpful.
Review 17 for Digital Timer Bookmark
Customer avatarBy: backspace
I am a: Parent
From: Wisconsin
Overall rating 
1 / 5

No directions

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
I should have read the reviews. There are no directions included. It is all guess work for something that should be so simple. Not very user friendly.
+5points
6of 7people found this following review helpful.
Review 18 for Digital Timer Bookmark
Customer avatarBy: CNero
I am a: Parent
From: Los Angeles, CA
Overall rating 
1 / 5

Confused

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
I didn't read the reviews because I purchased off the school flyer. But No directions on how to set-up. No Off button that I've found to have it off during the day till it's needed. Mine doesn't go to 20:00 mine will only set to 19:59.
This book is great for thinking & feeling, recreational reading
I'd recommend this book for girls, Even adults!, boys, inquisitive readers, active learners
+17points
18of 19people found this following review helpful.
Review 19 for Digital Timer Bookmark
Customer avatarBy: ChinaMary
I am a: Parent
From: Honolulu, Hi
Overall rating 
2 / 5

Confusing to set up

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Confusing to set up. Not sure if it didn't include instructions or it made it to the trash before it came home. Finally set it it 20 minutes and then push "set". When the colon starts flashing, it's actually counting down. Beeps are too loud when setting up. Annoying. Finally got it working and the kids love to time their reading.
This book is great for recreational reading
I'd recommend this book for girls, boys
+16points
18of 20people found this following review helpful.
Review 20 for Digital Timer Bookmark
Customer avatarBy: Joey
I am a: Parent
Overall rating 
1 / 5

No Directions

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
This product seems like it would be great, but it doesn't come with basic directions. Where's the on/off button? How do you set the timer? It's not worth the money. You can buy a cheap clip on kitchen timer or use another device and it would be easier.
This book is great for those who like to figure things out
I'd recommend this book for those with a phd in electronics
Classroom Uses none
+19points
19of 19people found this following review helpful.
1 2 next>>