Customer reviews for Scooby-Doo!™ Sight Words Box Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Scholastic Clubs.

Scooby-Doo!™ Sight Words Box Set

Scooby digs up missing bones, rescues kidnapped pumpkins, and reveals the secret of a snow monster in stories that teach foundational sight words. He'll help kids solve the mystery of reading—one vocabulary-building book at a time! In each mystery, three basic words are introduced, printed in bold, and repeated throughout the text so children have the opportunity to begin recognizing and reading them without sounding them out. With 30 vocabulary words, this engaging set prepares kids to read faster and enjoy it more. Includes Bones Mystery , Carnival Mystery , Cat Mystery , Cheese Mystery , Old Town Mystery , Parade Mystery , Pumpkin Mystery , Scary Night Mystery , Snack Mystery , Snow Monster Mystery , and two workbooks all packed into a sturdy carrying case. ™ & © Hanna-Barbera. (s13)
Overall rating:
4.769 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
Customer reviews for Scooby-Doo!™ Sight Words Box Set
Review 1 for Scooby-Doo!™ Sight Words Box Set
Customer avatarBy: omeara4
I am a: Parent
From: Kansas
Overall rating 
5 / 5

Scooby-Doo Sight Words Box Set

PostedApril 8, 2015
This was such a wonderful purchase for my son who is in Kindergarten! He spent all evening reading once we got them home.
This book is great for building skills, recreational reading, giving as a gift
I'd recommend this book for boys, girls
Classroom Uses reading aloud, predicting, text elements
+1point
1of 1people found this following review helpful.
Review 2 for Scooby-Doo!™ Sight Words Box Set
Customer avatarBy: sarahberra32
From: Ashtabula, OH 44004, USA
Overall rating 
5 / 5

Learn with Scooby

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Great item, hooks the students. Love it!
This book is great for building skills
I'd recommend this book for boys, girls, reluctant readers
Classroom Uses fluency
0points
0of 0people found this following review helpful.
Review 3 for Scooby-Doo!™ Sight Words Box Set
Customer avatarBy: Frogger22
I am a: Parent
From: Rochester, MN
Overall rating 
5 / 5

Makes Learning Fun!

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
We got this box set to practice sight words. My son loves Scooby-Doo so he really enjoyed these books. The workbooks were a nice addition too.
This book is great for building skills, sight words
I'd recommend this book for boys, active learners, girls, reluctant readers
0points
0of 0people found this following review helpful.
Review 4 for Scooby-Doo!™ Sight Words Box Set
Customer avatarBy: ReadinMom
I am a: Parent
Overall rating 
4 / 5

Fun beginner books

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
These books are great for K-1 beginning readers. There's not a ton of plot, but they don't take long to read. We love Scooby!
This book is great for building skills, giving as a gift
I'd recommend this book for boys, girls, reluctant readers
Classroom Uses sequencing
0points
0of 0people found this following review helpful.
Review 5 for Scooby-Doo!™ Sight Words Box Set
Customer avatarBy: bambier
I am a: Parent
From: Iowa
Overall rating 
5 / 5

Great for My Scooby Doo Fan!

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
My Kindergartner loves these books. She's picked up quite a few new words quickly, and the stories have been engaging enough to keep her interest.
This book is great for building skills
I'd recommend this book for boys, girls
0points
0of 0people found this following review helpful.
Review 6 for Scooby-Doo!™ Sight Words Box Set
Customer avatarBy: momuvason
I am a: Parent
From: Forest City, PA
Overall rating 
5 / 5

Great reading!!

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
My son was 5 when he got this. He learned so much from the review words on the back cover which incorporates them in the book in bold font. It helps that he likes Scooby-Doo..
This book is great for building skills
I'd recommend this book for boys, girls
0points
0of 0people found this following review helpful.
Review 7 for Scooby-Doo!™ Sight Words Box Set
Customer avatarBy: KargMom
I am a: Parent
From: Merritt Island, Fl
Overall rating 
5 / 5

Great resource for emerging readers!

PostedOctober 30, 2013
I bought these for my daughter who is in Kindergarten and is just starting to read. I wasn't sure what to expect when I ordered them, but she is a Scooby fan, so I figured it was worth a try. I have not been disappointed! What a great set! We are on Book 3 and she loves reading them every night. It only takes about 3-4 days of reading a book before she knows all the sight words for that book + she recognizes the sights words from the earlier books. It is very exciting for both of us that she is reading (at least in part) books on her own!
This book is great forchills & thrills, belly laughing
I'd recommend this book forboys, girls, reluctant readers, imaginative readers
Classroom Usespredicting, reading aloud, inferential reading
+3points
3of 3people found this following review helpful.
Review 8 for Scooby-Doo!™ Sight Words Box Set
Customer avatarBy: CandiceCrystalCollins
I am a: Parent
From: Winchester, VA
Overall rating 
5 / 5

Great Educational Tool for Early Readers

PostedJune 18, 2013
My son is an emergent reader and he has been using this book system for almost a month, he now knows all words within the books. We read books 1-5 the first week, daily, and read books 6-10 on the second week, daily. I cannot stress enough how easy it is to use this learning tool, and your children will love solving Scooby-Doo mysteries over and over. There is nothing better than seeing a smile come over your child's face as they realize they can read on their own, and this book system did just that. I cannot thank you enough for that moment!
This book is great forrelating to the characters, chills & thrills, flashlight reading, belly laughing
I'd recommend this book forinquisitive readers, boys, girls, voracious readers, reluctant readers, imaginative readers
Classroom Usesstory elements, making connections, reading aloud
+6points
6of 6people found this following review helpful.
Review 9 for Scooby-Doo!™ Sight Words Box Set
Customer avatarBy: mamalebow08
I am a: Parent
From: Moore, OK
Overall rating 
4 / 5

My son loves them

PostedMay 1, 2013
My son is learning the words as well as enjoys Scooby and Shaggy. I believe it will be a good start for him and he enjoys the pictures.
This book is great forrelating to the characters
I'd recommend this book forimaginative readers
Classroom Usesmaking connections
+2points
2of 2people found this following review helpful.
Review 10 for Scooby-Doo!™ Sight Words Box Set
Customer avatarBy: LuvtoLearn
I am a: Parent
From: Ballwin, MO
Overall rating 
5 / 5

Scooby-Doo! Sight Words Box Set

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
I gave this set to my 5 year son for a Christmas gift. He was thrilled to have his very own set of Scooby Doo books in their own carrying case! He would (and still does) bring the set out, sit down on the couch, and ask me to sit by him so HE can READ to ME!!! With each book, he gets better and better. And he is so proud to read to me! This set has simple stories that any child would love. It also does a fabulous job at repeating words and introducing new ones as well.
This book is great forgiving as a gift, belly laughing
I'd recommend this book forboys, girls, reluctant readers, imaginative readers
Classroom Usespredicting, reading aloud, sequencing
+4points
4of 4people found this following review helpful.
Review 11 for Scooby-Doo!™ Sight Words Box Set
Customer avatarBy: Student1
I am a: Parent
From: South Bend, IN.
Overall rating 
5 / 5

Scooby-Doo

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Great set of books for any kids. They kept my daughter involved and her little brother also sat and listened whlie she read them.
This book is great forrelating to the characters, giving as a gift, belly laughing
I'd recommend this book forinquisitive readers, boys, girls, voracious readers, reluctant readers, imaginative readers
+2points
2of 2people found this following review helpful.
Review 12 for Scooby-Doo!™ Sight Words Box Set
Customer avatarBy: my3boys
I am a: Parent
From: Iowa
Overall rating 
5 / 5

Encourages reading

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
This Scooby box set is wonderful. My 6 year old loves to take the whole set in its case everywhere he goes. He worked and worked on the workbooks until they were done and goes through the books over and over again. Scooby makes reading cool and has my son excited about learning.
I'd recommend this book forboys, girls, imaginative readers
+1point
2of 3people found this following review helpful.
Review 13 for Scooby-Doo!™ Sight Words Box Set
Customer avatarBy: Writermom
I am a: Parent
From: Corona, CA
Overall rating 
4 / 5

Perfect set for Scooby enthusiasts learning to read

PostedDecember 2, 2011
These books contain simple storylines in an easy-to-read format that is perfect for the beginning reader. My son, an avid Scooby fan, is enjoying trying out his newly acquired reading skills on this set, making the process of learning to read a pleasure rather than a chore.
Reading these books also has helped my son learn his sight words beyond rote memorization.
This book is great forlearning to read
I'd recommend this book forboys, girls, reluctant readers
+123points
124of 125people found this following review helpful.